Image Map Image Map
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 40

Thread: What Ver of DOS on HD if booting from FD ??

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Marietta, GA
    Posts
    3,235

    Default

    If all you are doing is writing IBM PC disks, then the only line that matters is:
    "Double Density at 250kbps.......passed"

    That means Imagedisk can communicate with your floppy disk controller and can read/write the media in your drive.

    If you were trying to read/write non IBM PC disks then the two failures would indicate that your Floppy Disk Controller lacks abilities that limit what formats it can work with.

  2. #22

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KLund1 View Post
    Thanks everyone!
    Much appreciate all the help.
    Stone this is a run of IMD testfdc from the link you provided in #15.
    Perhaps this could shed some light on why I am having trouble.
    I am not 100% sure what I am see in these results, but i think I have a FDC issue? Of I am using teh wrong switches.
    Speaking of which. I am not not sure what the command string is to use idm to write a real disk.
    There are a lot of needed options that I do not know.
    Could you provide some help with that?
    Sorry, but I am not the author of post #15 and I don't really know how IMD works.
    PM me if you're looking for 3" or 5" floppy disks. EMail For everything else, Take Another Step

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Livermore, CA
    Posts
    322

    Default

    Stone, sorry, it was SomeGuy
    SomeGuy, thanks. No just wanting to wring IBM disk. nothing usual.
    What are the settings for a standard 360K disk for a 360K drive?
    When I ran IMD and tried to load an image, it did even see the file for Disk01.img
    Perhaps the archive files for norton 4.5 i am using are bad. I tried to upload disk01.img and this forum software said it was not a valid file format.
    Could one of you kindly direct me to a perhaps better lotion to obtain Norton 4.5 disk images? maybe that is my problem.
    Again thanks for all the responses.
    Atari Falcon030, Atari MSTE, Atari PS3000, STACY 4, 4160STE-CosmosEX, Atari PC1, 400/800/1200XL,800XL,800XE,130XE, XEGS, Apple IIGS, TRS-80 4P, TI 99/4A, Co-Co 3, Amiga 500, C64/128D

  4. #24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KLund1 View Post
    I tried to upload disk01.img and this forum software said it was not a valid file format.
    You must use a host site to U/L that file and put the link to it here.
    PM me if you're looking for 3" or 5" floppy disks. EMail For everything else, Take Another Step

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Marietta, GA
    Posts
    3,235

    Default

    ImageDisk only knows how to read and write its own ".IMD" files. But you can convert to/from IMG files.

    So why use ImageDisk then? Because it is a fairly robust tool, and it is better at telling you when things go wrong.

    You can convert to IMD format with the following commands:

    160k raw to imd:
    BIN2IMD <image.img> <image.imd> DM=5 N=40 SS=512 SM=1-8 /1

    180k raw to imd:
    BIN2IMD <image.img> <image.imd> DM=5 N=40 SS=512 SM=1-9 /1

    320k raw to imd:
    BIN2IMD <image.img> <image.imd> DM=5 N=40 SS=512 SM=1-8 /2

    360k raw to imd:
    BIN2IMD <image.img> <image.imd> DM=5 N=40 SS=512 SM=1-9 /2

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Livermore, CA
    Posts
    322

    Default

    SomeGuy !! thanks, now I have IMD files, but sorry to say I need the correct settings to write it out to disk from within IMD. After changing from 80 tracks to 40 I am lost. I think double step should be off since I am using a 360K drive. but after that ......?
    Would you mind putting them up here.
    Thanks again.
    Atari Falcon030, Atari MSTE, Atari PS3000, STACY 4, 4160STE-CosmosEX, Atari PC1, 400/800/1200XL,800XL,800XE,130XE, XEGS, Apple IIGS, TRS-80 4P, TI 99/4A, Co-Co 3, Amiga 500, C64/128D

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Marietta, GA
    Posts
    3,235

    Default

    When writing, the only thing you need to specify is the drive letter, and double stepping - which should be off if you are using a 360k drive rather than a 1.2mb drive.

    When reading a 360k disk, you do have to specify cylinders as 40 but everything else should be default.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Livermore, CA
    Posts
    322

    Default

    Ok,
    Lets review:
    I download Norton 4.5 from:
    https://winworldpc.com/product/norton-utilities/45
    I pick the 360K 5.25 download. Unzip and move to tweener PC
    from "restart in dos mode" from win98
    BIN2IMD C:/disk01.img nrtnd1.imd DM=5 N=40 SS=512 SM=1-9 /2
    then run IMD
    See pictures.
    Why the errors?
    Again thanks for the hand holding on this.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Atari Falcon030, Atari MSTE, Atari PS3000, STACY 4, 4160STE-CosmosEX, Atari PC1, 400/800/1200XL,800XL,800XE,130XE, XEGS, Apple IIGS, TRS-80 4P, TI 99/4A, Co-Co 3, Amiga 500, C64/128D

  9. #29

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KLund1 View Post
    Ok,
    Lets review:
    I download Norton 4.5 from:
    https://winworldpc.com/product/norton-utilities/45
    These are bootable IBM DOS disks.

    The Norton Utilities doesn't have DOS files on their disks. I have NU 4.5 and they can be zipped up and unzipped and run directly. No need for an image file.
    PM me if you're looking for 3" or 5" floppy disks. EMail For everything else, Take Another Step

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Marietta, GA
    Posts
    3,235

    Default

    You must have made a typo converting the file.

    IMD says it is trying to write "250K SD" - that is incorrect. It should say "250K DD".

    That could only happen if you specified the wrong "DM=" parameter. It must be "5" for 250K DD (MFM) media.

    Just not having much luck, are you?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •