Image Map Image Map
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Question about Atari ST mouse/joystick ports

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Quakertown, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    368

    Default Question about Atari ST mouse/joystick ports

    I'm in the market for an Atari ST but the overwhelming majority of the ones for sale don't come with a mouse. Does the ST use some kind of ST-specific mouse protocol or is it shared with say, the Amiga? I have an Amiga mouse...

  2. #2

    Default

    It uses the same type of mouse as the Amiga (functionally the same as a PC bus/InPort style mouse), but the pinout is different. Many 3rd party mice has a switch to go between ST and Amiga pinouts. You could wire a simple adapter to use an Amiga mouse if needed.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NorthWest England (East Pondia)
    Posts
    2,226
    Blog Entries
    10

    Default

    There are also various adaptors available that allow the use of a USB mouse.
    Dave
    G4UGM

    Looking for Analog Computers, Drum Plotters, and Graphics Terminals

  4. #4

    Default

    Or really any other common mouse.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Quakertown, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    368

    Default

    I've seen those adapters but none of them look like they'd work with the models that have the mouse ports under the keyboard instead of on the sides?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NorthWest England (East Pondia)
    Posts
    2,226
    Blog Entries
    10

    Default

    No ST has a mouse port on the side. STEs have analogue joystick ports but little software uses them. I guess you might need an extension cable ....

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/383100307339

    or you can make one with ribbon and a couple of IDC DB9...
    Dave
    G4UGM

    Looking for Analog Computers, Drum Plotters, and Graphics Terminals

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Quakertown, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    368

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by g4ugm View Post
    No ST has a mouse port on the side. STEs have analogue joystick ports but little software uses them. I guess you might need an extension cable ....

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/383100307339

    or you can make one with ribbon and a couple of IDC DB9...
    I'm confused, where is the mouse port on the original 520ST then? The models with built in floppy drives moved the port under the keyboard.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio/USA
    Posts
    7,651
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    There are 2 joystick ports under the machine labeled 0 and 1. You can use the mouse on port 0.

    atari st mouse port.jpg

    These ports are the same standard as the common Atari 2600 sticks.
    What I collect: 68K/Early PPC Mac, DOS/Win 3.1 era machines, Amiga/ST, C64/128
    Nubus/ISA/VLB/MCA/EISA cards of all types
    Boxed apps and games for the above systems
    Analog video capture cards/software and complete systems

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NorthWest England (East Pondia)
    Posts
    2,226
    Blog Entries
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by itsvince725 View Post
    I'm confused, where is the mouse port on the original 520ST then? The models with built in floppy drives moved the port under the keyboard.
    Sorry my bad. Some original STs had the mouse ports where the floppy drives are on the "F" models. I have never seen such a machine but oddly there appears to be at least one on E-Bay now..

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/Atari-520ST...e/303243949097

    at least there is no floppy drive light on the top of the keyboard and the add doesn't mention floppy. This one is described as an ST

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/283538706242

    does appear to be an STF or FM..

    .. one thing to watch out for is that the early STFs had only a single sided 360K drive, and the 720K one makes transfering files to a PC much simpler.
    Dave
    G4UGM

    Looking for Analog Computers, Drum Plotters, and Graphics Terminals

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    near frankfurt/m, germany
    Posts
    911

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by g4ugm View Post
    STEs have analogue joystick ports
    No, they are digital, they just support a lot of extra buttons. There you can use a Jagpad.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •