Image Map Image Map
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: mTCP and PC DOS 6.3 in VirtualBox

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    833

    Default mTCP and PC DOS 6.3 in VirtualBox

    mTCP and PC DOS 6.3 in VirtualBox.

    Managed to find a packet driver for the PCnet fast iii virtual card.

    Have gotten the time function to run.

    EDIT. IRCjr running now.
    Last edited by fjk61011; August 23rd, 2019 at 10:57 AM.

  2. #2

    Default

    It's all documented in the PDF file. (http://www.brutman.com/mTCP/mTCP_2015-07-05.pdf - page 22, including a link to the packet driver.)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    833

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mbbrutman View Post
    It's all documented in the PDF file. (http://www.brutman.com/mTCP/mTCP_2015-07-05.pdf - page 22, including a link to the packet driver.)
    Ah yes as a British army warrant officer used to say t me When all else fails read your instructions

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    833

    Default

    Hi Mr Brutman,

    Got most of the EXEs to work.

    Thanks for the help.


    Francis

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    4,072
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    I hope we'll be seeing you more often over at #vc
    Thomas Byers (DRI)- "You'll have a million people using the A> [MS-DOS prompt] forever. You'll have five million using [nongraphic] menu systems such as Topview, Concurrent PC-DOS, Desq, and those types. But there'll be 50 to 100 million using the iconic-based interfaces."

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    833

    Default

    My wife is between chemo and radical surgery so I don't know if I will for awhile. Been geeking as a distraction while waiting for a date for the surgery.

    Got most apps working with DOS in VirtualBox. Stuck on the FTP server. keep getting Econn? error message.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    833

    Default

    Finally got FTP server working with File zilla on Widodows 10.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    833

    Default

    Logged into the FTP Server on my PS/1 from WfW in VirtualBox. No luck with DOS so far.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    833

    Default

    Have set up Arachne in virtual dos. Tis working.

    EDIT: It's faster than Edge on Windows 10.
    Last edited by fjk61011; August 24th, 2019 at 04:07 AM.

  10. #10

    Default

    Good work!

    Btw, in respect to VM performance..

    In Virtualbox, there's a CPU tab where you can limit the CPU usage for your DOS VM.
    Without some tools, like DOSidle (DOS) or WQGHLT (Win 3.x Enhanced Mode), CPU usage for each VM will always be at the max.

    Also, in some virtualizers, such as Virtual PC, running DOS in V86 mode (EMM386 loaded) might be faster than in real-mode.
    I suspect that real-mode compatibility in these virtualizers requires some emulation, thus slowing down the DOS VM.
    Activated hardware virtualization (AMD-V,Intel-VT etc.) assists the virtualizers, thus they can handle real-mode quicker.

    Anyway, these are just my two cents.

    Good luck and best wishes,
    Jo22
    "Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
    In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." -The Minstrel

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •