Image Map Image Map

Thread: Macintosh classic battery leakage

Question Macintosh classic battery leakage

First of all I am a total noob regarding hardware etc. So I don't know anything about this.
    But i found a macintosh classic at my attic which was from my father. I tried switching it on but it didn't do anything so I opened the computer and found out that the battery had leaked. As you can see in the images it doesn't look that bad (I hope) so i decided to try and fix it. First question: Is it fixable? Second question: How? As I said i know nothing about this and about soldering etc. The thing where the battery was in is also broken (the metal thing that pushes against the battery to conduct power broke due to corrosion) so I wil need to replace that. My father placed this macintosh in our attic in working condition so the screen etc is probably still ok. How should I clean it? And how can i remove the corrosion without destroying the components. I've seen people on the internet saying to use white vinegair or isopropyl or even placing it in the dishwasher.

70575498_1115302962007102_8751337409989312512_n.jpg
    70557114_405138746810120_596195538618023936_n.jpg
    71091990_479857992607926_1001807916430262272_n.jpg
    70586783_2570909959642047_4185476437752414208_n.jpg
    71783584_408222646500994_4038931526547668992_n.jpg

Blog Entries

That's....really interesting. Normally when those batteries leak they write the whole logic board off but on yours it seems like the Ram card took the most damage, so there's hope.
    Your main priority is that all the surface mount lytics (those little silver cans) need to be changed. There is no reusing them and they go bad with age and EVERYONE's have gone bad. That is unfortunately a soldering job.
    For the corrosion on the chassis I'd go at it with compressed air and a steel brush to remove the loose material and call it good.