Image Map Image Map

Thread: Dim composite video on Tandy 1000 HX.

Default Dim composite video on Tandy 1000 HX.

Tandy 1000 HX is plugged into a C= 1084-D via composite. Video is very dim, to the point where I have to turn the Brightness and Contrast all the way up to see much of anything (and then it's really washed out of course).

Haven't tried it on DB-9. Waiting on connectors so I can make a cable.

I hooked up another 1000 HX and it was working great, so I am pretty sure it's not the monitor (phew). I don't see anything obviously wrong on disassembly. Any clues on how to fix this? I assume I need to recap... Something... Somewhere....... :P Unfortunately I am self-taught at electronics (read: dumber than a sack of hammers), so I am not sure what to do other than start randomly recapping stuff that looks to have something to do with video until it works right.... :3
    May Be Interested In Acquiring: Mac SE-30, IIsi, Quadra 840AV, Commodore PC(286+)/64C/128D, PC-era Tandy stuff.

Quote Originally Posted by bladamson View Post
    Haven't tried it on DB-9. Waiting on connectors so I can make a cable.
    I know this is jumping ahead, and maybe you know this already, but I'm going to throw it out there because I was bit by it recently: when you make your RGB cable make sure pin 7 isn't connected. That pin is "NC" on an original CGA card, but the 1000 EX at least cross-connects it to the "green" pin to support some not-at-all-documented-in-the-manual "mono" mode. When I connected my EX to my 1084D using a cable with all pins wired straight through the 1084 grounded out that wire and in the process killed the green output.

(Maybe this doesn't happen with all 1084s, I know Commodore made a million subtle variants. Luckily it didn't actually damage the output, cutting the pin fixed it.)