Image Map Image Map
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Compaq LTE Lite Floppy Belts

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    5,781
    Blog Entries
    44

    Default Compaq LTE Lite Floppy Belts

    I was having issues with a new 4/25 I purchased and suspected that it was using a belt driven floppy drive.
    Sure enough, the Citizen V1DA-15A uses a belt and said belt has given up.



    Does anyone know of an AFFORDABLE source for replacements?
    = Excellent space heater

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    32,479
    Blog Entries
    18

    Default

    What's the circumference of the belt? I wonder if the replacement belts sold for the Amstrad CF2 drives will work--they're still available.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    32,479
    Blog Entries
    18

    Default

    You could also have someone 3D print one for you. Here's the info for the Amstrad belt:

    https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2854841

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio/USA
    Posts
    7,682
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    I have that Citizen drive in a Compaq, still looking for a belt.
    What I collect: 68K/Early PPC Mac, DOS/Win 3.1 era machines, Amiga/ST, C64/128
    Nubus/ISA/VLB/MCA/EISA cards of all types
    Boxed apps and games for the above systems
    Analog video capture cards/software and complete systems

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    5,781
    Blog Entries
    44

    Default

    I could not even tell you much about the spec of the old belt. Looks like the motor started after it perished and it wrapped itself around the motor spindle until the assembly jammed.
    = Excellent space heater

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    32,479
    Blog Entries
    18

    Default

    Clean things up, take a bit of twine or thread and loop it around both pulleys, cut and measure what you've got. Deduct a few mm for stretching and Bob's your uncle.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    5,781
    Blog Entries
    44

    Default

    Total loop length: 230mm
    Belt width: 2mm
    Belt thickness: 0.5mm
    Last edited by NeXT; October 25th, 2019 at 09:20 PM.
    = Excellent space heater

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio/USA
    Posts
    7,682
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NeXT View Post
    Total loop length: 230mm
    Belt width: 2mm
    Belt thickness: 0.5mm
    Did you find a match anywhere?
    What I collect: 68K/Early PPC Mac, DOS/Win 3.1 era machines, Amiga/ST, C64/128
    Nubus/ISA/VLB/MCA/EISA cards of all types
    Boxed apps and games for the above systems
    Analog video capture cards/software and complete systems

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    5,781
    Blog Entries
    44

    Default

    No.
    AFter the amount of hair pulling it took to disassemble the drive and get the damn string to stay in place to get the measurement I put the system back together and started drinking heavily.
    = Excellent space heater

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    32,479
    Blog Entries
    18

    Default

    2mm is a pretty common belt width. Have you considered looking in a kit like this?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •