Image Map Image Map
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: FS: MITS Altair 8800, repaired/tested/working, unexpanded 2-slot system!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Central VA
    Posts
    4,699

    Default FS: MITS Altair 8800, repaired/tested/working, unexpanded 2-slot system!

    link: https://www.ebay.com/itm/274079460643

    Just finished repairing and testing this one. It came to me totally unexpanded: only two S-100 slots, containing the 8080 CPU board and MITS 1K static RAM board! I didn't want to solder in any other slots, since it's pretty uncommon to find them unexpanded, so I wire wrapped a multifunction board with 32K RAM, 2K ROM, and a 6850 ACIA that's set up to be compatible with the MITS 88-2SIO board's first port. So, even with just two slots, you can load and run BASIC!

    As with basically every other Altair 8800, the front panel needed to be completely rewired.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    32,664
    Blog Entries
    18

    Default

    That's odd--my 8800 kit came with the connectors for all 4 slots--but then, I ordered mine with the CPU, SIO and two 4K DRAM boards. I don't recall if MITS packaged a connector with each board, which could explain things.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Bedford, NH, USA
    Posts
    1,597

    Default

    My kit came with only the CPU (I had to figure out that I had to buy the RAM board later) and a thick 4-slot motherboard with 4 connectors and 8 card guides.
    My kit had the same front panel trim strip, and the round-handle switches. No guard screen for the connectors on the rear panel. Otherwise, just the same as shown.
    As best as I can recall, I purchased this kit early in 1976.

    smp

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Central VA
    Posts
    4,699

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    4,656
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default

    I have been wanting an Altair forever but with exchange rates where they are it's just a bridge too far. I've spent a lot on vintage gear but there's something about $7500CDN in one shot that starts to feel like real money. I'm sort of cruising ebay as every now and again one will pop up for a more modest price. Otherwise I'd have to finance or do layaway.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Bedford, NH, USA
    Posts
    1,597

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by falter View Post
    I have been wanting an Altair forever but with exchange rates where they are it's just a bridge too far. I've spent a lot on vintage gear but there's something about $7500CDN in one shot that starts to feel like real money. I'm sort of cruising ebay as every now and again one will pop up for a more modest price. Otherwise I'd have to finance or do layaway.
    If you're willing to build a bunch of it yourself, an Altair 8800c can be assembled that can use both vintage and vintage-but-made-with-modern-day boards.

    See this topic:
    http://www.vcfed.org/forum/showthrea...t=Altair+8800C

    I did this, and I love my Altair 8800c. Total cost for me was about US $1000. However, I had the cabinet from my Altair Clone. If you add that in, the total would be about US $1300.

    smp

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Central VA
    Posts
    4,699

    Default

    Mike's Altair 8800C is indeed a great option for those who don't care if the machine itself is actually old, and just want the experience of hacking on a front panel S-100 system.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •