Image Map Image Map
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: Option 370 for AT

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NorthWest England (East Pondia)
    Posts
    2,352
    Blog Entries
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MrArgent View Post
    Huh, sounds like there's some major asterisks with this one.
    Why do you say that! IMHO its beautiful card. It was only ever designed to run CMS and it does that perfectly. If its working it lets you run most mainframe applications software on a PC. So whilst the only operating system it will run is CMS its a second generation CMS that's way more advanced than the one you can freely run in Hercules. You can load any of the free compilers into the CMS it comes with. Its slow compared with modern mainframes or mainframe emulators. Asking if it will run other OS's is a bit like asking if you can run OS/2 2.0 on an XT. You can't but that does not seem to make XTs less desirable.

    If you want to run another OS you need a P390 card which comes in Microchannel or PCI versions. That doesn't do IO itself either but it does come with a suite of OS/2 programs that provide the missing services and you can run any OS from the very start up to the last 32bit version. I have one in its original PC Server box and have run MTS on it...DSC_2611.jpg
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by g4ugm; November 24th, 2019 at 10:56 PM. Reason: replace photo
    Dave
    G4UGM

    Looking for Analog Computers, Drum Plotters, and Graphics Terminals

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Guildford, U.K.
    Posts
    338

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by g4ugm View Post
    If you want to run another OS you need a P390 card which comes in Microchannel or PCI versions. That doesn't do IO itself either but it does come with a suite of OS/2 programs that provide the missing services and you can run any OS from the very start up to the last 32bit version. I have one in its original PC Server box and have run MTS on it...DSC_2611.jpg
    That's telling them, Dave.

    I have three variants, PC Server 500, PC Server 520 and homebrewed PC Server 720 based PC Server S/390s, plus a Multiprise 3000. All capable of running VSE/ESA, VM/ESA, OS/390 or 31-bit z/OS, plus anything earlier (various flavours of OS/370 through MVS). Hercules is a little restrictive for may taste.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NorthWest England (East Pondia)
    Posts
    2,352
    Blog Entries
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WBST View Post
    That's telling them, Dave.

    I have three variants, PC Server 500, PC Server 520 and homebrewed PC Server 720 based PC Server S/390s, plus a Multiprise 3000. All capable of running VSE/ESA, VM/ESA, OS/390 or 31-bit z/OS, plus anything earlier (various flavours of OS/370 through MVS). Hercules is a little restrictive for may taste.
    Sadly a year or two ago I passed om a Multiprise 3000 but realistically I didn't have the space. I do miss real tape drives!

    Of course its not Hercules thats restrictive, more like IBM Licences.

    However those early AT/370 cards really are a thing to behold. When they were new the smallest mainframe IBM made was the "chest freezer" (actually more like a store freezer) sized 4331, 4341 and 4361. To cram the instruction set on such as small card was a miracle...
    Dave
    G4UGM

    Looking for Analog Computers, Drum Plotters, and Graphics Terminals

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Texas Hill Country
    Posts
    134

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by g4ugm View Post
    Why do you say that! IMHO its beautiful card. It was only ever designed to run CMS and it does that perfectly. If its working it lets you run most mainframe applications software on a PC. So whilst the only operating system it will run is CMS its a second generation CMS that's way more advanced than the one you can freely run in Hercules. You can load any of the free compilers into the CMS it comes with. Its slow compared with modern mainframes or mainframe emulators. Asking if it will run other OS's is a bit like asking if you can run OS/2 2.0 on an XT. You can't but that does not seem to make XTs less desirable.

    If you want to run another OS you need a P390 card which comes in Microchannel or PCI versions. That doesn't do IO itself either but it does come with a suite of OS/2 programs that provide the missing services and you can run any OS from the very start up to the last 32bit version. I have one in its original PC Server box and have run MTS on it...DSC_2611.jpg
    That's super cool. Nice analogy on OS/2, btw. I was actually hoping to install different flavors of 1.x on SCSI hard drives, to show as a demo machine at our next GTG (DFW Retro Computer club).

    Is your P390 installed in a PC Server 330, 320, 500, or PS/2 Model 95? I recently acquired a working PS/2 Model 95, and would love to find a P390 someday (came with Warp 3, but I'm going to stick on one of the Warp server versions).

    I got my Option 370 installed today, and tested with the diag disks. I'll see if I can post screenshots at some point.
    IBM Computers: 5150 (16-64K, 64-256K), 5160, 5161, 5162, 5170 (regular and Tempest), Option 370 16 bit, PC Convertible
    PS/2 Machines: 30, 40SX, 50Z, 55SX, 60, 70, 77 (Lacuna & Bermuda), 80, 85, 90 XP, 95, "E"
    Vintage ThinkPads: 300, 360C/CE, 510CS, 560/E, 600E/X, 701C/CS, 700, 720C, 730TE (tablet), 750C/P (color and tablet models), 755C/CE/CD/CDV/CX, 760ED, 765L, 770
    Vintage UNIX workstations: 2/120, 3/75, 3/60, SS 2/5/20, U2 Ent, HP 715/100, several RS/6000s

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NorthWest England (East Pondia)
    Posts
    2,352
    Blog Entries
    10

    Default

    Its a PC Server 500 but I think the "Planar" is the same as the model 95...
    Dave
    G4UGM

    Looking for Analog Computers, Drum Plotters, and Graphics Terminals

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Guildford, U.K.
    Posts
    338

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by g4ugm View Post
    Its a PC Server 500 but I think the "Planar" is the same as the model 95...
    Well, 9595 not 8595.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Texas Hill Country
    Posts
    134

    Default

    So as an update, I got VM/PC installed. I had to tweak some of the batch and BASIC files, but got it all installed. I can run configuration, but when I try to connect to a local session, it hangs the machine, and I hear a continuous beep and pause from the speaker (maybe something in the range of 2500-3000Hz). Anyways, that's as far as I can get. I thought of stripping the machine to a basic configuration to see if that makes things better. Worst case scenario, out comes the Option 370 (if it needs a basic config) and it goes into one of my TEMPEST 5170 machines.

    For what it's worth, this machine has 6MB of extended RAM (only because I was planning on an install of OS/2 1.0, and I understand it crashes when more than 8MB are detected upon boot up), a SCSI controller with external drives (for each OS install), the stock MFM controller so I don't get a 601 error (and both work together), 3COM EtherLink II TP, IBM's serial/parallel 8 bit card, and a VGA framebuffer.
    IBM Computers: 5150 (16-64K, 64-256K), 5160, 5161, 5162, 5170 (regular and Tempest), Option 370 16 bit, PC Convertible
    PS/2 Machines: 30, 40SX, 50Z, 55SX, 60, 70, 77 (Lacuna & Bermuda), 80, 85, 90 XP, 95, "E"
    Vintage ThinkPads: 300, 360C/CE, 510CS, 560/E, 600E/X, 701C/CS, 700, 720C, 730TE (tablet), 750C/P (color and tablet models), 755C/CE/CD/CDV/CX, 760ED, 765L, 770
    Vintage UNIX workstations: 2/120, 3/75, 3/60, SS 2/5/20, U2 Ent, HP 715/100, several RS/6000s

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NorthWest England (East Pondia)
    Posts
    2,352
    Blog Entries
    10

    Default

    The AT370 was picky. Isn't there a diagnostic test disk for it?
    Dave
    G4UGM

    Looking for Analog Computers, Drum Plotters, and Graphics Terminals

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Texas Hill Country
    Posts
    134

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by g4ugm View Post
    The AT370 was picky. Isn't there a diagnostic test disk for it?
    There is, and it does pass diagnostics.
    IBM Computers: 5150 (16-64K, 64-256K), 5160, 5161, 5162, 5170 (regular and Tempest), Option 370 16 bit, PC Convertible
    PS/2 Machines: 30, 40SX, 50Z, 55SX, 60, 70, 77 (Lacuna & Bermuda), 80, 85, 90 XP, 95, "E"
    Vintage ThinkPads: 300, 360C/CE, 510CS, 560/E, 600E/X, 701C/CS, 700, 720C, 730TE (tablet), 750C/P (color and tablet models), 755C/CE/CD/CDV/CX, 760ED, 765L, 770
    Vintage UNIX workstations: 2/120, 3/75, 3/60, SS 2/5/20, U2 Ent, HP 715/100, several RS/6000s

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NorthWest England (East Pondia)
    Posts
    2,352
    Blog Entries
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pkhoury View Post
    There is, and it does pass diagnostics.
    That is encouraging. Might just be a memory overlap..
    Dave
    G4UGM

    Looking for Analog Computers, Drum Plotters, and Graphics Terminals

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •