Image Map Image Map
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Posting this from an InfoWindow 3153 terminal

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Shrewsbury, MA
    Posts
    1,055

    Default Posting this from an InfoWindow 3153 terminal

    Just wanted to make a post. My InfoWindow 2 3153 terminal is hooked up to a Pentium 3 and on the internet, that's where I'm currently writing this. I need to experiment a lot more but it's working well so far, especially for a "broken" terminal

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Principality of Xeon (NJ)
    Posts
    1,437

    Default

    Groovy.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Guildford, U.K.
    Posts
    152

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RadRacer203 View Post
    Just wanted to make a post. My InfoWindow 2 3153 terminal is hooked up to a Pentium 3 and on the internet, that's where I'm currently writing this. I need to experiment a lot more but it's working well so far, especially for a "broken" terminal
    Like gold dust to the early RS/6000 enthusiasts. I have one too, lovely little terminal with multi-page and dual session capabilities, as well as various emulations. I have the manual if you need any info.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Shrewsbury, MA
    Posts
    1,055

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WBST View Post
    Like gold dust to the early RS/6000 enthusiasts. I have one too, lovely little terminal with multi-page and dual session capabilities, as well as various emulations. I have the manual if you need any info.
    The only thing I really need to figure out is how to take it apart and replace that soldered battery! I'm thinking of using a cr2032 and running wires out to someplace easily accessible. Maybe glue it on that shield towards the rear of the terminal

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Guildford, U.K.
    Posts
    152

    Default

    For CMOS RTC/CMOS clock chips I bought a couple like this:
    https://www.pcboard.ca/dual-cr2032-b...-on-off-switch
    Two CR2032 cells make for 6V DC, which is usual for older equipment (i.e. 5V logic).
    There's a tiny plastic OFF switch on the flat side.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Shrewsbury, MA
    Posts
    1,055

    Default

    Thanks for the link, I'll grab one of those.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    1,278
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default

    Nice! You should post pictures of the terminal and the screen over at the IBM 3153 page at the Terminals wiki: http://terminals-wiki.org/wiki/index.php/IBM_3153
    Torfinn

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •