Image Map Image Map
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: FDISK showing "No fixed disks present" on Compudyne 386 laptop

Question FDISK showing "No fixed disks present" on Compudyne 386 laptop

Let me start off by saying I just recently discovered this site and am a newbie here, so apologies if I posted this in the wrong category or something.

Anyways, I recently acquired an old Compudyne N386 SXE laptop on eBay for around $53. It does have a few issues including one of the screen hinges being broken, but is in overall acceptable condition (fortunately the screen itself works fine.)
    I'm looking to install Windows 3.1 or 3.11 on this machine but am running into a few issues. I'm running the computer on an MS-DOS 6.22 bootdisk and trying to create a new partition to install Windows. Unfortunately when I try to run FDISK, I simply get the message "No fixed disks present." Typing "C:" at the DOS prompt only gives the message "Invalid drive specification".
    I went into the BIOS on the laptop and it does actually detect a Type 2 IDE device for Hard Disk 1:

20200106_094955-800x600.jpg

One more note. When the laptop is booting both the HDD and FDD access lights turn on, but I can only boot from a floppy disk.

Based on the symptoms described, is the hard drive likely just dead? If the HDD is dead, would the BIOS still detect it? I should also mention that the CMOS battery is dead. Could that have something to do with my DOS bootdisk not finding any hard drive, or is there some other issue?

Any help is appreciated!

Blog Entries

I suspect that the hard drive is "pinin" for the fjords", misquoting a Python sketch. If you can boot MSDOS, you may be able to run the SeaTools legacy CLI tool here and see if it tells you anything.

Did the bios detect it? Or is it just set for that value? Is there any auto option if you scroll past 47?

Quote Originally Posted by TH2002 View Post