Image Map Image Map
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Clonezilla hard drive cloning issues

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    33,364
    Blog Entries
    18

    Default Clonezilla hard drive cloning issues

    I decided to give one of my older systems a kick in performance and picked up a 500GB SSD to replace the 500GB Seagate Barracuda hard drive. The SSD is slightly larger than the spinning rust drive, so I though that a "clone" using Clonezilla would be a no-brainer.

    Apparently, I was mistaken.

    My system setup was XP (old files) and Ubuntu AMD64 (what I actually use, but having the XP boot can be handy). Boot manager is Grub2.

    So, I told Clonezilla to clone /dev/sda to /dev/sdb and not adjust partition sizes. An hour or two later, it (apparently) was complete. I booted Ubuntu successfully, but XP left me me with a blank screen and blinking cursor.

    You'd think that something simple--maybe changing the UUID was important, but that should be it. Throwing a curse to the wind, I rebooted a live CD and did:

    dd if=/dev/sda of=/dev/sdb

    Went back to my breadmaking...

    The result boots up in both XP and Ubuntu. I still don't know what Clonezilla was doing, but whatever it was, it wasn't right.

    Just a caution to others. On pure Linux systems, I've created new partitions and used rsync to do the copying--and that worked fine.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    SE MI
    Posts
    4,413
    Blog Entries
    6

    Default

    Chuck - I use Clonezilla to do whole drives at once and never had a problem with it. I've never tried the tricky stuff of moving/copying individual partitions, so I can't speak for it. Not being comfortable with Linux, I would be afraid to try what you did. It would have to be all or nothing for me.
    Surely not everyone was Kung-fu fighting

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    33,364
    Blog Entries
    18

    Default

    I've had problem with gparted as well, doing fancy things with NT/XP partitions. Sometimes it's best to forget the fancy tools and just do the low-level stuff yourself.

    One of the more puzzling thing is that Clonezilla claimed that my ext4 Linux partition had issues and wanted to "fix" a few things. Reboot back to Linux, run fsck--nope, the thing is clean. So I've got no idea what's going on with CZ.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio/USA
    Posts
    7,809
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    I just use Acronis True Image for cloning and you just click the starting drive and ending drive and it works 100%.
    What I collect: 68K/Early PPC Mac, DOS/Win 3.1 era machines, Amiga/ST, C64/128
    Nubus/ISA/VLB/MCA/EISA cards of all types
    Boxed apps and games for the above systems
    Analog video capture cards/software and complete systems

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    SE MI
    Posts
    4,413
    Blog Entries
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Unknown_K View Post
    I just use Acronis True Image for cloning and you just click the starting drive and ending drive and it works 100%.
    Yeah, that's a good one and I have it. I got into the habit of using Clonezilla on some older PC's and it does a real good job without any fuss.
    Surely not everyone was Kung-fu fighting

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Principality of Xeon the Great State of Central New Jerky
    Posts
    1,573

    Default

    CZ can work with 2 different filesystems simultaneously? I hadn't expected that. I do want clone a fresh Win7 install, dump that onto an ssd, and see if I can still get a win10 upgrade. I don't have high hopes of that. Would be happy though if the transferral works.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Posts
    33,364
    Blog Entries
    18

    Default

    Clonezilla, being hosted on Linux, understands many filesystems. I haven't tried to clone any HFS+ partitions with it, but it should work.

    WikiP suggests 39 filesystems supported by the Linux kernel
    Last edited by Chuck(G); January 9th, 2020 at 08:56 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Principality of Xeon the Great State of Central New Jerky
    Posts
    1,573

    Default

    I'm clear on that. Just didn't know if it had the ability to clone a drive with 2 different filesystems. I just bought a magazine with a live dvd with a slightly out of date version, for amd-64, which is what I have, bit it doesn't boot. May be an issue with the computer (likely) or the disk, less likely in my view. Always nice when youcan blow 16$ on something and not have it work. But the issue is great! I mean funtabulous!

    Forgive me I'm not up to speed on anything newer then Ghost v.10.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •