Image Map Image Map
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: 1 inch paper tape for ASR Model 33 teletype

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    UK, South East
    Posts
    398
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default 1 inch paper tape for ASR Model 33 teletype

    Folks,

    in eager anticipation of my recently acquired ASR 33 arriving from the USA, I'm looking for a supplier of suitable 1" paper tape.

    It would appear that GNT Ltd in the UK is sadly no more.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    UK - Worcester
    Posts
    3,800

    Default

    Exciting...

    I bought some last year from a guy in the UK at a very reasonable price.

    I have just sent him an e-mail to see if he has any left.

    I am away on a business trip until Friday, so I will pick this up when I get back.

    Dave
    Last edited by daver2; February 10th, 2020 at 03:16 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    UK, South East
    Posts
    398
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by daver2 View Post
    Exciting...

    I bought some last year from a guy in the UK at a very reasonable price.

    When I get back from my business trip I will hunt out his e-mail address for you.

    Dave
    Thanks Dave.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NorthWest England (East Pondia)
    Posts
    2,387
    Blog Entries
    10

    Default

    GNT web site still seems ok

    http://gnt.co.uk/papertape.htm

    BUT you need oiled tape for the ASR33. I only have plain...
    Dave
    G4UGM

    Looking for Analog Computers, Drum Plotters, and Graphics Terminals

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    UK, South East
    Posts
    398
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Yes it is but the owner emailed me back and told me the business was kaput.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NorthWest England (East Pondia)
    Posts
    2,387
    Blog Entries
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zippysticks View Post
    Yes it is but the owner emailed me back and told me the business was kaput.
    oh well art least you got a reply...
    ... any way i have some plain tape if you are stuck, but you will need to oil the punch often if you use it...
    ... this might be usefull...

    https://www.vintagecomputer.net/vcf1...UsingASR33.pdf
    Dave
    G4UGM

    Looking for Analog Computers, Drum Plotters, and Graphics Terminals

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    UK, South East
    Posts
    398
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Thanks Dave.

    I'll sit tight until the thing arrives.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Toronto ON Canada
    Posts
    7,343

    Default

    I've always wondered: why do Teletypes and similar machines require oiled tapes while most computers used plain tape?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NorthWest England (East Pondia)
    Posts
    2,387
    Blog Entries
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeS View Post
    I've always wondered: why do Teletypes and similar machines require oiled tapes while most computers used plain tape?
    I think computer punches have much harder punch blocks. As far as I know the UK made CREED teletypes with punches don't need oiled tape either.
    Dave
    G4UGM

    Looking for Analog Computers, Drum Plotters, and Graphics Terminals

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Toronto ON Canada
    Posts
    7,343

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by g4ugm View Post
    I think computer punches have much harder punch blocks. As far as I know the UK made CREED teletypes with punches don't need oiled tape either.
    Thanks; makes sense, maybe due to advances in metallurgy and engineering and widespread use in the CNC industry.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •