Image Map Image Map
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: learning RT11 in simh

  1. #1

    Default learning RT11 in simh

    Hi,

    I try to learn RT11 using simh installed on linux. I am connected to simh using mobaXterm by SSH with VT100 terminal emulation
    -First question : after install RT11 ask to run IND VERIFY but put an error after terminal identifcation :

    Code:
    .RUN IVP
            Your console is a VT102
    
    .DELETE IVP.(SAV,OBJ)
    
    .RUN DL0:QUEMAN /A
    ?QUEMAN-F-QUEUE is not running
    
    Error ABORTing Foreground
    I tried to change simh Throttle, number of bit (solutions found on the net), but without success.
    What is the impact of the IND VERIFY not working ??

    if I don't run it , I can use RT11, but I found an other issue when I tried to use EDIT .

    I don't see the '*' and double 'ESC' doesn't seems to work.

    is this 2 issues are linked or not ? . I tried directly to use simh in a linux console, result is the same.
    Can anybody help me ?
    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    576

    Default

    I have found that terminal emulation works better if the emulator is a separate window from the one SIMH is using. For example, here is part of one of my SIMH .INI files on my Windows laptop:
    Code:
    set console telnet=11233
    ! start ..\vt52 -r 127.0.0.1:11233
    boot RX0
    This instructs SIMH to listen on port 11233, then has it spawn a terminal emulator (in this case, for a VT52) which connects to port 11233.

    Also, you might find that it helps terminal emulation if you include this in your SIMH .INI file:
    Code:
    set tto 7b

  3. #3

    Default

    Thanks for this anwser.

    I use now telnet to connect to RT11 . But same issue.
    this is the ini I use


    Code:
    SET CPU 11/45 256k
    SET TTO 7b
    SET TTI 7b
    SET RL0 RL02
    ATTACH RL0 rt11Working.RL02
    SET RL1 RL02
    ATTACH RL1 rt11DATA.RL02
    ATTACH LPT lpt.txt
    SET CONSOLE telnet=11233
    I found in documentation this :

    ?QUEMAN–F–QUEUE is not running Explanation:The QUEUE program is not running as a foreground or system job. User Action:Use FRUN to install QUEUE in the foreground or use SRUN to install QUEUE as a system job
    I am very newbie in RT11 .

    I start to read "Introduction to RT11" and just after boot I shoud have

    Code:
    RT-11FB    V05.03
    .
    But I have :

    Code:
    RT-11FB  V05.03
    
    .TYPE V5USER.TXT
    
                                  RT-11 V5.3
    
           Installation of RT-11 Version 5.3 is complete and you are now
        executing from the working volume    (provided you have used the
        automatic installation procedure). DIGITAL recommends you verify
        the correct  operation  of  your  system's  software  using  the
        verification procedure.  To do this, enter the command:
    
                                 IND VERIFY
    
            Note that VERIFY should be performed  only after the distri-
        bution media have been backed up.  This was accomplished as part
        of automatic installation on  all  RL02,  RX02,  TK50, and  RX50
        based systems,   including the  MicroPDP-11 and the Professional
        300.  If you have not completed automatic installation, you must
        perform a manual backup before using VERIFY.  Note also,  VERIFY
        is NOT supported on RX01 diskettes,    DECtape I or II,   or the
        Professional 325.
    
        DIGITAL also  recommends  you  read  the  file V5NOTE.TXT, which
        contains information  formalized too late to be included  in the
        Release Notes.  V5NOTE.TXT can be TYPED or PRINTED.
    .
    I suppose that after running IND VERIFY and reboot , this text will be not present.But I can't run it

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    576

    Default

    in SIMH, "disable LPT" until after you have run IND VERIFY. I believe the problem here is that the emulated line printer is too fast, so that by the time QUEMAN /A is executed printing has already completed. In a real system, QUEMAN would probably still be running, possibly still on the first page.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    576

    Default

    Also regarding EDIT, I think in RT-11 v5.03 KED/K52 may have replaced TECO as the default editor, but the user's guide wasn't updated. This would probably be why you aren't seeing a * prompt in EDIT, and why ESC ESC doesn't do anything. to exit KED/K52, I believe the sequence is PF1 numpad-7 EXIT enter.

  6. #6

    Smile

    So, for the first issue , whithout LPT , program stucks just after pressed the "RETURN" . It seems that the program stucks on LPT detection .

    Code:
    .ind verify
    .COPY DL0:IVP.COM SY:
     Files copied:
    DL0:IVP.COM    to SY:IVP.COM
    DL0:IVP.COM    to SY:IVP.COM
    .DEASSIGN
    
    
                    INSTALLATION VERIFICATION PROGRAM
    
    
            The Installation Verification Program (IVP) verifies that RT-11 has
            been installed correctly on your hardware configuration.
    
            The program will:
    
            .  Print the RT-11 V5.3 Release Notes (If a serial or line printer
               is available)
    
            .  Build and run the terminal identification program (IVP.MAC)
    
            .  Print the program listing and link map for IVP.MAC (If a serial
               or line printer is available)
    
            Press the "RETURN" key when ready to continue
    With LPT I can go further :

    Code:
    The program will:
    
            .  Print the RT-11 V5.3 Release Notes (If a serial or line printer
               is available)
    
            .  Build and run the terminal identification program (IVP.MAC)
    
            .  Print the program listing and link map for IVP.MAC (If a serial
               or line printer is available)
    
            Press the "RETURN" key when ready to continue
    
            Your  configuration  contains  a  line printer.
    
            Please ensure that your line printer is set On Line
    
            Press the "RETURN" key when ready to continue.
    
    
            The RT-11 Version 5.3 release notes will now be queued to this printer.

    But I found many users with the same screenshot at RT boot. They don't take care about IND VERIFY . I will probably do the same.

    For the second point , yes you're probably right, I found the solution here

    If I use SET EDIT EDIT Before trying to use edit , it works !

    So, I am able to edit text, good point. Now, I found that MACRO is present on installation , but not fortran and BASIC. If I undertood correctly, there is another disk with programming languages. Unfortunately , I did't find a such disk. As I am using simh I can use any disk/tape format . Where could I find all other RT images disks ?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    576

    Default

    I think I had to put "set LPT disabled" in my .ini file and restart SIMH for it to take effect. with the LPT device enabled in SIMH (but not attached to an output file like lpt.txt) I got the same hang.

    I don't know where more RT-11 software can be found. I actually use it very little, most of my experience was with the cut-down version of RT-11 that Heath provided with the H-11.

  8. #8

    Default

    You're right ! . No more hangs after disabled LPT .

    I let somebody else answer to respond for "more RT11 softwares" question. Thanks for your help .

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    UK - Worcester
    Posts
    3,865

    Default

    Loads of RT-11 disk images...

    Try here:

    https://pdp-11.org.ru/files.pl?lang=en

    http://pdp-11.ru/mybk/hobot/ukdwk_archive/index.txt

    MY.DSK appears to have RT11 and a BASIC.SAV. It also appears to have a PASCAL.SAV, TETRIS.SAV,...

    There is also ftp.trailing-edge.com/pub as well.

    There is probably plenty there to keep you busy for a while.

    What you must remember, however, is that some of the .SAV image files may only run with specific version of RT-11 - so you might have to 'play' a bit to get the languages you want all running together with the version of RT-11 you want to use.

    Dave

  10. #10

    Default

    I found many things with your links. I will try in a near futur. I already quickly test basic , but I would like improve my skills on RT11 Commands , Bitsavers gave me the docs , it is time for me to start working !

    Thanks !

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •