Image Map Image Map
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: UV Erasing tms27c256

Default UV Erasing tms27c256

So I decided to re-purpose some tms27c256 Roms that came from an old Zenith 286 sportster (battery liquefied the unit and it was ruined)
    I am a novice when it comes to this and I understand the theory but I could use some clarification. I have read 30 minutes to 1 hour usually works for High intensity (whatever that can be explained as) UV lamps. I am using my 80 watt Large LED UV lamps I use for retrobrighting. I tried 30 minutes, 1 hour, and 24 hours. The Roms still show all the data they started with when checkingwith my Mini pro. Does it require more than 24 hours under these lamps?

This might sound silly but since these were programmed in the mid 80's is the data now permanent?

Blog Entries

"LED UV lamps" may be the source of your problem. UV EPROMs generally require exposure of 254 nm or thereabouts. Longer wavelengths won't do it, at any amount of time.

Do you smell ozone when you run your LEDs?

What does the spectrum of your LEDs look like?
    Last edited by Chuck(G); July 13th, 2020 at 07:58 AM.

yeah I'm with Chuck, sounds like a wavelength issue

you need to use the UV bulbs advertised as being for sanitizing

Blog Entries

As a related note: A lot of Chinese "Corn" LED lamps are being sold as UV-C units. They're not. Big Clive had a post on YT not long ago where he tests UV LED lamps.

If you bought those cheap, they won't work. The price of UVLED's goes up exponentially as the Angstroms go down. AFAIK there are very few "true" UV-C LED's yet and they are costly.

I'd like to know how they intend to package them because UV-C will just kill plastic.

Quote Originally Posted by Chuck(G) View Post
    "LED UV lamps" may be the source of your problem. UV EPROMs generally require exposure of 254 nm or thereabouts. Longer wavelengths won't do it, at any amount of time.

Do you smell ozone when you run your LEDs?