Image Map Image Map
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: PS/2 port on Pentium motherboard

Default PS/2 port on Pentium motherboard

Hi, recently bought a Asus P/I-P55TP4XE motherboard, 166mhz Pentium as my first proper rebuild project.

When I received it, I saw that it doesn't have a PS/2 port, only a space where I assume you would add one? (see pics)

Now, I'm a newbie, and I've never had to deal with something like this. How would I go about adding a PS/2 port to this thing?

Cheers.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Is this what I'm looking for?

https://www.amazon.com.au/StarTech-c.../dp/B0002AFZV2

*edit: upon further inspection, I can see that the plug in the above link has 10 holes, where as the motherboard has 8/6 pins. Still not sure though...

In theory that's what you're looking for. Even though the plug itself has 10 pins, only 4 are connected. The problem is ensuring that the pinout on the motherboard matches with the pinout on the plug of the adapter. I have a Soyo SY-5TF5 motherboard that has a PS/2 connector just like the one in your motherboard but it doesn't work with the PS/2 port bracket that I have tried it with. As soon as I move the mouse the computer just freezes. Still haven't investigated much but I'm sure it's just a matter of getting the pinout to match between the port and the connector on the motherboard.

Quote Originally Posted by conradspitfire View Post
    Now, I'm a newbie, and I've never had to deal with something like this. How would I go about adding a PS/2 port to this thing
    The pins are identical for DIN and PS/2 ports, which is why there are passive adapter cables. To get a PS/2 port, you can just measure the mainboard header pins against the existing DIN socket to get the pinout. Then, just connect a MiniDIN connector to the header (and put it on a bracket).

This should work for PS/2 keyboards, but it depends on the keyboard controller whether it will support mice (or two devices simultaneously).