Image Map Image Map
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Diagnostics for Profile Hard drive

Default Diagnostics for Profile Hard drive

I recently after years of waiting and searching got my first Apple Profile Hard drive (5MB). Its dead however. I was wondering what guides or info there are for repairing these and what software, and diagnostic software is out there for testing.

I know there is a good chance the hard drive is dead but I want to test the board and connection to a computer. I can always swap the drive with an MFM SD device, I just want to make sure the device as a whole is working. I have no experience with these and would welcome any input. Thanks.

profile is very, very, very proprietary. other than the actual mechanism is manufactured by seagate, everything else (all the electronics) are of apple proprietary design.
    the drive is so extreme that the only way to even low level format the unit is through a custom drive firmware while hanging off an apple iii.
    in twenty some odd years of surfing fleabay, I think I saw that firmware chip came up for sale, once.

Quote Originally Posted by dorkbert View Post
    the drive is so extreme that the only way to even low level format the unit is through a custom drive firmware while hanging off an apple iii.
    in twenty some odd years of surfing fleabay, I think I saw that firmware chip came up for sale, once.
    Is this what you mean? Stumbled across this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q8nhAqfFQ8k
    which pointed here: says its for low level formatting: http://bitsavers.trailing-edge.com/p...file/firmware/