Image Map Image Map
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Lisa Widget 10MB loose wire question.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    3,181

    Default Lisa Widget 10MB loose wire question.

    So I am trying to repair a clicking 10MB Lisa Widget HDD. Taking it apart I noticed a wire was loose from the connector, but since its a 5 pin connector I dont know where it should go. ITs the red wire going into the header that connects to the backplane board of the widget; header J6 20200929_203525_resized.jpg20200929_203551_resized.jpg

    Anyone have a lisa or widget Hdd and can take a peak at the back and see where the wire connects?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,164

    Default

    Quick pic:

    IMG_1087_sm.jpg

    Good luck.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    3,181

    Default

    Man, you rock! Thanks so much!!!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    3,181

    Default

    Yeah no go, tried a slight adjustment of head position and checked all the connections. It just clicks indefinitely. I wont open it up outside a cleanroom so the drive is junk.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    6,134
    Blog Entries
    44

    Default

    I've heard of a few Widgets where even just a brief opening on a clean kitchen table to reattach the transducer glass was fine. You got nothing to lose at this point by opening it.
    [Need something to waste time on? Click here to visit my YouTube channel CelGenStudios]
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    [No time for videos? Click here to visit my Twitter feed @CelGenStudios]

    = Excellent space heater

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    3,181

    Default

    Thats true, but doesn't the glass have to be PERFECT, or it just wont work, meaning you have to keep opening and adjusting?
    This product exists as a replacement: http://vintagemicros.com/catalog/xpr...2d76ca9f83da2c

    although it cost a fortune.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    6,134
    Blog Entries
    44

    Default

    If I'm understanding it right, it needs perfect alignment if you wish to recover whatever was on the drive due to existing track alignments.
    However if you don't care for the data, just stick it back "close enough" and use BLU to run a low-level format and see what happens. I've personally never verified if Widgets used an embedded servo track or were more or less the same as stepper motor technology, but with a voice coil and the linear encoder instead of a servo track, like the RK05.

    Wouldn't you want to verify that and possibly save $400?
    [Need something to waste time on? Click here to visit my YouTube channel CelGenStudios]
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    [No time for videos? Click here to visit my Twitter feed @CelGenStudios]

    = Excellent space heater

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    3,181

    Default

    Of course. That is certainly no small amount of money! But everything I have read states widgets are just failure prone garbage and have been from the start.

    Everheard of Neowidex? https://github.com/stepleton/NeoWidEx I cant find a working disk image so I cant try it but its supposed to be alot of low level tools to diagnose or even fix failed widgets.

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by VERAULT View Post
    Of course. That is certainly no small amount of money! But everything I have read states widgets are just failure prone garbage and have been from the start.

    Everheard of Neowidex? https://github.com/stepleton/NeoWidEx I cant find a working disk image so I cant try it but its supposed to be alot of low level tools to diagnose or even fix failed widgets.
    I've heard of it. I wrote it

    Is there a reason that https://github.com/stepleton/NeoWidE...WidEx.dc42.zip doesn't work? It should be a standard Disk Copy 4.2 disk image.

    Also, if you have skill with a soldering iron and are happy with 5MiB ProFile emulation instead of Widget emulation, you may be able to build a hard drive emulator for double-digit bucks: https://github.com/stepleton/cameo/tree/master/aphid . Hacking it to pretend to be a 10MiB ProFile shouldn't be that hard. But emulation of the full Widget command set (not necessary for the Office System, I don't think) is next level.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    3,181

    Default

    I just dont have a MAC at the moment setup for making disks. I had a really nice Mac LC I restored but I sold it to someone who really wanted it. I was hoping someone could have it on an image that will work with my floppy emu.

    Aphid huh? That looks great! Yeah Thats definitely a better choice cost wise. Thanks I will definitely look into that.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •