Image Map Image Map
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24

Thread: TeleCOMPAQ: Phoning it in

  1. #11

    Default

    Nice! Hopefully the drive will work.

    That thing looks well-built for sure. You’re making me want one bad!

    Do you know if the CPU is an 8086 or an 8088? I know it has to be XT-class from the keyboard layout.
    Compaq - “It simply works better”

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    493

    Default

    It's an 8086! Full 16 - looks like a DeskPro 8086 derivative.
    General Failure Reading Drive C -
    Abort, Retry, Ignore?

  3. #13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MrArgent View Post
    It's an 8086! Full 16 - looks like a DeskPro 8086 derivative.
    Excellent!
    Compaq - “It simply works better”

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    3,276

    Default

    So this thing is essentially like the Zaisan phone computer system i sold and commented on in the past right?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Shrewsbury, MA
    Posts
    1,379

    Default

    No way, that thing is amazing!!! Very similar concept to the Zaisan. I definitely need one of these Telecompaqs now
    Last edited by RadRacer203; December 1st, 2020 at 05:15 PM.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    493

    Default

    Definitely a power supply issue. 120V makes it through the two power switches and into the PSU, but in spite of some signs of high voltage nothing makes it out of the PSU -- even for things not tied to the motherboard voltage rail like the CRT Display or the CRT compartment fan. Apparently it's ALWAYS power supply issues on these machines, so that wasn't unexpected. Now to narrow things down further...

    Hard drive won't spin up, either. I spot what I think is a broken cap. Not mere stiction, though...
    General Failure Reading Drive C -
    Abort, Retry, Ignore?

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    6,178
    Blog Entries
    44

    Default

    Have you tried jumpering the power supply using a paper clip yet?

    Joking aside, I suspect since you are seeing volts past the rectifier and in the primary side that either the DC control section needs a cap change because the out-of-value caps are messing with the logic (I have seen that happen. I'm working on PSU's right now that this is happening in) or the secondary side caps are unable to handle the inrush and it's going into protection. I believe you mentioned in IRC that with the PSU removed you were not seeing rail shorts to ground.
    [Need something to waste time on? Click here to visit my YouTube channel CelGenStudios]
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    [No time for videos? Click here to visit my Twitter feed @CelGenStudios]

    = Excellent space heater

  8. #18

    Default

    Computer Reset was selling these for $329 in 1993 (see page 3 of the PDF):

    http://www.amstereo.org/files/1993Co...setCatalog.pdf

    I wonder if they still have any in their warehouse?

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Kamloops, BC, Canada
    Posts
    6,178
    Blog Entries
    44

    Default

    Does that place even exist anymore beyond a hole in the ground? I thought they started palletizing everything and hauling it away earlier in the year?
    [Need something to waste time on? Click here to visit my YouTube channel CelGenStudios]
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    [No time for videos? Click here to visit my Twitter feed @CelGenStudios]

    = Excellent space heater

  10. #20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NeXT View Post
    Does that place even exist anymore beyond a hole in the ground? I thought they started palletizing everything and hauling it away earlier in the year?
    No, a team of volunteers are helping to run the place. It's still open, but you to need to join Computer Reset's Facebook group and be invited to come in.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •