Image Map Image Map
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: DEC Terminal VT420 not too bright

Default DEC Terminal VT420 not too bright

Hi,

I feel like my ,,new'' VT420 isn't too bright. I attach the picture, however on that picture it looks brighter than it really is. I don't have live comparison with other VT420, however it's a lot darker than IBM 5151. Also when one of brightness and contrast knobs are in the middle, the screen goes black - no glowing characters visible. Is it normal or not and if not, perhaps it can be fixed somehow?

Best regards,
    Pawel

I've got a white VT420 and it's about the same. However, mine starts off fairly dim when I first turn it on and it gradually reaches a moderate brightness. I'd imagine that's just because it's, well, old.

They may have not been very bright terminals to begin with, but I have no personal experience with them when they were new. (would have liked to of course )
    Collector of all things Digital, but mostly VAXes and corporate knick-knacks (books, mugs, etc).
    VAXes: VAX 4000-100A, VAXstation 3100-30, VAXserver 3100, VAXstation 4000 VLC
    Randoms: DECpc LPv+, Rainbow 100B, DECbridge 90, DECserver 300

I have a few VT420s with the same issues. This problem appears to be fairly generic from what I read.

One of my VT420s is nice and bright.

One is very dim. You can just see it in ambient light with the brightness control turned fully up.

One appeared to be non functional (apart from the tell-tale power on beep) until I switched out the light and viewed it in the dark!

I have found what claims to be the VT420 schematics at:

http://vtda.org/docs/computing/DEC/T...g-drawings.pdf.

The circuit looks straight forwards and there appears to be a few capacitors to checkout.

Could do with a monitor expert to checkout the schematic and give us some words of wisdom...

Dave

It would be good to know what the voltage is across C626 (10uF 250V) is on a working monitor.