Image Map Image Map
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 41

Thread: S-100 Power Supply Design Question

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Cleveland, OH, USA
    Posts
    1,360

    Default

    I dug through the drawers and found a 12VDC 3A switcher that will do for now, mainly just to run the fans.

    The case I chose - CoolerMaster HAF XB - is roomy enough for me to run the PSUs side-by-side instead of stacked. I think I'll get better airflow around them and, attached to an aluminum base plate, sort of a heat sink as well. Plus the plate lifts out with everything attached if need arises. The chassis is exceptionally deep; there is an additional 7 inches above the "mezzanine" rails, on which I will mount the backplane, cards and cage.

    Pics attached.

    -CH-

    PSU_Array1.jpg PSU_Array2.jpg PSU_Array3.jpg PSU_Array4.jpg
    Last edited by clh333; February 25th, 2021 at 04:34 AM.

  2. #32

    Default

    That's a nice looking case. Mounting the board on rails kind of reminds me of the Altair.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Cleveland, OH, USA
    Posts
    1,360

    Default

    Never seen an Altair, or an IMSAI, either, for that matter. I considered finding a "legacy" machine but I thought better. Not so much for the cost, as this project will probably equal that, but for the educational value and because I thought it better to start with new components - some old ones are becoming unobtainium - and because I didn't want to commit the mortal sin of sending a classic to an early grave.

    -CH-

  4. #34

    Default

    Good thinking. I have both and they are very finicky. That's why, like you, I have a new system to play with.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Cleveland, OH, USA
    Posts
    1,360

    Default

    An additional question has arisen: How to specify (name, locate, purchase) the "lifting levers" that sit at the upper corners of a 5x10" S-100 card? I'm building a cage but will need to know how high the top lip should be.

    Thanks for the info.

    -CH-

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    central florida
    Posts
    112

    Default

    "card ejector"
    mouser has stock

    joe

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Cleveland, OH, USA
    Posts
    1,360

    Default

    Thank you. Also available at Newark. Datasheet suggests top of cage be same height as top of card. QED.

    -CH-

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    central florida
    Posts
    112

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by clh333 View Post
    Thank you. Also available at Newark. Datasheet suggests top of cage be same height as top of card. QED.

    -CH-
    The ejector tab is the same hight as the board edge. But cards are not the same size. Mine vary by almost 1/10 in. I picked the shortest card I have and made the cage hight 1/16 inch shorter. Want to be sure the cards bottom out in the connector and not on the guides.

    joe

  9. #39

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jlang View Post
    The ejector tab is the same hight as the board edge. But cards are not the same size. Mine vary by almost 1/10 in. I picked the shortest card I have and made the cage hight 1/16 inch shorter. Want to be sure the cards bottom out in the connector and not on the guides.

    joe
    It would then depend on the offset of the hole at the corner of the board. You'd want the hole to be such that the ejector does not restrict sufficient travel of the board in the connector.
    Still, the connector doesn't make the connection, to the board, at the bottom of the connector. Look at the board and note where the wiping mark is for your particular connector. As long as it is inserted far enough to be about 0.10 inch beyond the wiping mark, it will be enough to work. Bottoming of the connector is not needed. In fact having it not bottom out will help from having connectors broken by forceful insertions.
    Dwight

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Cleveland, OH, USA
    Posts
    1,360

    Default

    Thanks, gents, for your responses. The ejectors I ordered from Newark haven't arrived yet so a test fit isn't possible, but the cage (walnut) isn't fully assembled, either, so I may have some wiggle room. If I manage to break a connector through forceful insertion I will be quite surprised. Not looking forward to replacing one, but I do have a spare.

    This has been a learning project and as such has taken a number of new directions already. Two steps forward, etc. I'll report back when I get it sorted.

    Thanks again,

    -CH-

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •