Image Map Image Map

Thread: Mainframe software for PC

Default Mainframe software for PC

Although I subscribe to the Hacker imperative (hands-on), I try to
    learn some things from the mainframe world too.

I've had some experience with an IBM 3090, size of an aircraft hanger.
    I ended up as Network Control. Believe it or not, its a lot of *fun*!!!

OK, so I'm unlikely to add one to my collection any time Real Soon Now, BUT I can find some software to run on a PC.

Editors being one of my obsessions, here is an excellent free copy of the XEDIT mainframe editor. The Windows version is VERY EASY to use & install.

http://hessling-editor.sourceforge.net/

Want to emulate a mainframe? Here is the (reportedly) excellent
    Hercules Emulator:

http://www.conmicro.cx/hercules/

One day soon, I hope to try it out. Perhaps you will & you'll let us know how you get on with it.

OK your turn. Do you have any (free) PC copies of mainframe software?
    Or (free) software that uses lessons from the mainframe world, or shares mainframe look & feel? Or any stories to tell? Talk to me!

Finally, I once wrote Eliza under ROSCOE on the 3090, kept on adding to it for months, the responses were more human than your normal Eliza.
    (Sorry I have no listing, but its easy to write). What interesting mainframe software have you written yourself?

.T.I.M
    WHAT A LONG STRANGE TRIP ITS BEEN

Default mainframe access

I need free mainframe access to server with userid and password. how i can get that one . Can anybody suggest me. Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by bharat View Post
    I need free mainframe access to server with userid and password. how i can get that one . Can anybody suggest me. Thanks
    Suggest you learn to use the Search function.

http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcfo...read.php?t=834

"It's a me-too, 8-bit machine with good graphics and a disk system nobody will support."