• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Where do you find your vintage gear from?

sev

Experienced Member
So I have a few boxes of stuff Ive been hoarding for 15+ years but theres quite a few items im still looking for. Besides ebay and here, how do you find your vintage gear? Are there any local resources you use?

Im thinking about contacting some local computer recyclers and seeing if they have anything interesting?

craigslist.
i troll it searching for vintage, antique, ancient, 8088, and 198* in the computers section. Living in a large metro area helps.
goodwill/savers/etc never seem to have anything other than junk printers and crusty old dell keyboards, so i no longer bother there.

you should post your want list here, and also update your location area in your profile. I'm at the point where I don't want any more stuff and I have a bunch of stuff that I should now eliminate.

craigslist.

Same here, or the local equivalents of Craigslist. Never ebay.

Seems to me that Vintage Computers have two prices.

There is the low price (I think, the value) you pay on craigslist-type sites where someone actually is happy to get rid of his stuff without involving his trashcan. But you need time to wait for things to come up.

Then, there is the high price (ie, not to be confused with the value) when you want to get something right now off ebay. Then you have to hit the asking price of someone trying his luck. Most of the times, high asking price means unsold but sellers can always try and do get lucky once in a while.

The mildly annoying thing (to me, no offense, but that's what triggered my response) is that when people see the occasional weird-high prices on eBay they start to believe that must be the value of the old computers in their collection. You can buy some vintage machine XYZ for $1000 anytime. But you'd need a lot of patience selling it for even 25% of that.

Cheers,

Oscar.