• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

eBay

Erik

Site Administrator
Staff member
I'm not doing too much active collecting these days (mainly for space reasons) but when I was adding to my collection I used eBay quite a bit.

I've had off and on experiences with eBay over the years but by and large I've been very happy with both the products I've purchased and the people I've dealt with there.

I have, however, heard some folks grumble, often quite a bit, about eBay and their experiences there.

Has anyone had a particularly bad experience with eBay? A particularly good one?

Erik

Re: eBay

Erik said:
Has anyone had a particularly bad experience with eBay? A particularly good one?

No real BAD experiences and several good. I've both sold and bought.

My strangest; several years ago I listed two books for the TI-99 separately. Their cover prices were about $10 to $12 so I started them at $5 each. One finally sold for about $65, the other for >$70! I studied the listing for a long time to be sure that I hadn't lied or misrepresented anything.

A few weeks later I found another copy of one book so I listed it. It went for ~$10. Go figure.

Two of my pet peeves:

Sellers who charge a fortune for shipping and handling. I look at the total cost: $1 for the item and $12.55 for shipping or $12.55 for the item and $1 for shipping, makes no difference to me.

AND sellers who list an item as RARE!!! but we all know better. Some folks seem impressed by tacking on words like vintage or hard-to-find don't impress me.

My wife used to work for 3DO and while she was there she ended up collecting a ton of promotional games for the 3DO game system as well as the system itself. She'd typically pay $5 for the American titles and would generally be given the international (Japanese) titles in favor of trashing them.

During a cleanup prior to our first baby I decided to put her collection on eBay since we'd pretty much never used it and it was taking up valuable space.