• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

DeeAnn Here...

DeeAnn

Experienced Member
I'm a retired mechanical engineer and my contact with computing goes 'way back. In college we had an IBM System 360 and later a 370. I learned Fortran programming and programs were submitted as Hollerith card decks. Geez, those were the days particularly for someone who didn't really type! However, I guess I came by it honestly as my mother was taught to be a COBOL programmer in the late 50's. She continued doing that along with system administrator and department manager duties for the rest of her life. She thought Rear Admiral Grace Hopper walked on water, and from I can tell, she damned near did.

Over the course of my 43 career, I did a number of things, including machine and automation design, plant layout, project management, tooling design, creating a quality assurance program, supervision and leading machinery installation teams in Taiwan. However, the most relevant part to this forum is that I did Fortran, Basic, DATAtrieve and discrete event simulation programming for 6 years.

Since retiring at the beginning of 2016 I hold offices in various non-profits, but I still maintain a lifelong interest in motorsports and architecture. I've also built 2 Hackintoshes, the second one of which I am using at this moment...

Welcome to our forum. Opposite Coast here. Seems you have some good experience in older tech. looking forward to your inputs!
Mick

Welcome. Grace Hopper was amazing! A role model for everyone.

USN, first programming language. Funny thing, they never mentioned her when I was in A or C School. I had to find out about her when I got out of The service and thats a damn shame.

All: