• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Greetings from Australia!

jd

Hi all,

I'm a paramedic from Australia who collects Apple Computers (see my collection at http://jd.sjaa.com.au).

I got introduced to computers by my father back in the late '70s when he was a systems analyist. I took up with the Apple ][ in 1980 and worked on summer vacation as a programer with the University of Melbourne. A couple of my early programs can still be found on ground.

Since then I've changed career paths, but maintain my interest in computing. I still volunteer as network adminsitrator for the St John Ambulance Australia organisation here in Victoria. With a limited budget they now have a small Linux server farm with frame relay gateways into each local office.

At home, I found that after a few upgrades, I ended up with a small collection of machines and just got carried away from there.

I very much enjoy getting my collection up and running with original software of the day, and get a kick out of seeing how much the older machines can do.

My pride and joy is my Lisa (1). I found it as an upgraded Lisa 2 and managed to track down the Twiggy drives, Lisa 1 ROM, front panel and software. Unfortunately, the drives do not recognise known good LOS v1 disks. I was successful once, but the ProFile wasn't connected to be installed. Since then, no luck. I'm guessing the drives need recalibration. If anyone happens to know how to do this - please let me know!

I'd be happy to chat to anyone about the machines in my collection.

Welcome!

Welcome!

Hello and welcome to the VC Forum!

I, too, would be proud of an Apple Lisa 1. That's a very nice find and I hope you figure out how to get it running. I've heard that those twiggy drives were a bear (which is one reason they were replaced) but they should be servicable.

The rest of your collection is, by the way, also very impressive.

Enjoy the forums!

Erik