• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Responsive Layout vintagecomputer.net

billdeg

Technician
Hey all...let me know what you think of my new site's layout. I created my own template and integrated into the existing programming. There are a few utility pages left to convert, but it's mostly done. I do not intend to convert the old static pages, they're to be left as-was. (i.e http://www.vintagecomputer.net/robots.cfm)

I have been working furiously to be ready for 2016. Let me know if you run into issues with your particular browser/device and I will try to help. Screenshots help.

Drove me crazy that I could not view my own site in my phone when doing work on something. Problem solved.

http://www.vintagecomputer.net

if you're curious...my company
http://www.degnanco.net

Bill

At a glance, looks good in SeaMonkey 1.1.20. Congrats for keeping compatiblity in mind. I come across a lot of web sites that won't work in anything but the absolute latest versions of Firefox or Chrome. It seems like the web is trying to move back to a monoculture, similar to the bad old days when everything only worked in IE.

It's a fresh new look for your excellent site (which I refer to for motivation for my own projects as well as super-useful information about 11/05s), but I have to say I find the large circuit board background picture sidebars a bit distracting from the centre content column when they scroll with it, it sort of overwhelms the middle somewhat. I know it's your site and design, but may I suggest it could it be subdued a little and fixed in place so only the content scrolls?

Steve.

For me it is actually very important that the background image scrolls with the rest. Sites where part of the page tries to "stay behind" works badly on Android, with delays and annoyances. As it is now it's perfect as far as I'm concerned. It zooms well too.