• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

I want to talk about my 23-25yr old coffee robot..

VERAULT

Veteran Member
159320623_flavia-coffee-tea-and-hot-chocolate-brewer-maker-machine.jpg

Back in 1998 or 1999 I was a consultant for a large local Pharmaceutical company. You know the one. And around that time they were riding pretty high on their blue penis pills, putting up new elaborate buildings on a constant basis. While doing some work in one of thier nicer buildings, a worker had told me how they had got into this new Coffee system by MARS (the candy company). It was the MARS S300 Flavia drinkstation. Teas, coffee, hot chocolates, and frothy toppings could be easily had with an individual packet a little bigger than the size of a gourmet tea packet.

When I first saw this thing it blew my mind. I knew I had to have one. They had so many types of coffee and teas in so many flavors. And besides the fact that this coffee robot was big elaborate and really facinating to watch run through its paces, it tasted exquisite. I am a snob of fine drink. (and yes I don't like Keurig).

Fast forward to 2003 and I came across a craigslist lad for a fellow selling two of these units. They were never available for sale to the general public. Mars would let you "barrow a unit" for a month, and when all your employees renounced "Hell yes, more please" Mars would put you on a contract for service, stock of drink packets of your choosing, and sugars, cups, other goods necessary. See the machine wasnt charged.. They made thier money on the contract of service and supplies.