• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Recapping an old Compaq Portable

fluxcap

I have a Compaq Portable and am new to "recapping" old equipment. I got the Sams Computerfacts for the machine (to be clear it's a Compaq Portable Plus - which is pretty much identical to the original areCompaq Portable).

And I'm very new to all of this. The hard part for me is matching the capacitor to it's new replacement cap. And (again please forgive me I am new) there are different types of capacitors - I was planning on replacing all capacitors in the PSU, crt board, video/cga card and the motherboard. I know there are different types of capacitors, but that's all I know - I don't know what types they are.

Ideally I would be replacing the capacitors with the best brand, with the best quality/reliability with the longest life.

Any advice on how to approach this would be greatly appreciated.

As with most of us here...I subscribe to the theory of "if it ain't broke, don't fix it.". Having said that, there's a half decent explanation on a different forum (though some types don't apply to PCs).

https://antiqueradio.org/recap.htm

And there's literally hundreds of thousands of different values/types the main rule is to stick with the same type and capacity. Electrolytics can't be replaced with non-electrolytics. Voltage for the new capacitor can be higher to a point, but there's some cases where that rule doesn't apply either (larger-voltage capacitors are usually also physically bigger). Also, you need to have good soldering skills to attempt any of this, so make sure you practice on something else if they're not up to snuff.

And (probably most important)... make sure everything is discharged before beginning.

Last edited:
Thank you TRA for the reply - it's greatly appreciated!