• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Toshiba T1000SE laptop issue

herregaarden

Hello

I have an old Toshiba T1000SE 8088 laptop that does not turn on.
What happens when i try to turn it on, the screen flashes for about 1 second with 2 black lines on the screen(see picture 1) and switches off again and the power led flashes.
I opened it up and found 1 cap that had leaked(220uf,25v,next to the BAT connector,picture2), so i cleaned the board up and changed the cap, but it made no diffrence.

I messured the PSU and it puts out a solid 12v(input 220v), i also tried another PSU with no difference.
I have very little experience with electronics, and do not have any tools like a scope.

Does anyone know what i should try next?
Thanks in advance

Screen Shot 2018-01-31 at 18.42.06.jpg
IMG_0296.jpg

Last edited:
You could at least find out if there is 5 Volt present at the board. If it isn't, then there is something wrong with the internal power converter. With a scope you could see if there is happening something at the various lines. Another trick: replace the (EP)ROM with one containing you own program; you can start with something simple that does something with the LPT port. If the LPT port doesn't do what you expected, good luck.

Another thought: does it boot from floppy or do you hear at least seeking noises?

Kind regards, Ruud

Thank you for your reply, i should have said that when i try to turn it on and the screen flashes it turns off again right away and the power led begins to flash.
I have very little experience with electronics, and do not have tools like a scope.

Hi, hope I can post to the thread (new member).