• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

NuXT - MicroATX Turbo XT Motherboard - 9.55MHz, UMBs, XT-CF, SVGA, HD Floppy, Serial

nztdm

Experienced Member
Not sure whether this should go here or in marketplace, as it's sort of a show n tell n sell.

Here's the result of a project I've been working on for a few months.

Shout out to Sergey Kiselev for his schematics which I've used in a few functional blocks on this board, such as his Micro 8088 SBC.

80's is coming back with the NuXT!
MicroATX sized Turbo XT motherboard.

Can be used as a full featured XT without any cards.
Could add Sound, Network Card, or more storage/connectivity.

Features:
  • 8088 and NEC V20 support
  • 8087 co-processor support
  • 4.77MHz, switchable to 9.55MHz with hotkey
  • 2x64K ROM, switchable with DIP switch, writable
  • 800K SRAM
  • - 640K conventional
  • - up to 160K UMBs (128K max when using EGA/VGA)
  • - Configured DOS 6.22 uses only 10K conventional!
  • Highly-compatible SVGA, up to 512K VRAM
  • HD Floppy controller, with FM support
  • Bootable CF Card Interface
  • Option ROM Socket, supporting 8K and 32K ROMs, writable
  • 16C550 Serial Port
  • PS/2 Keyboard Port
  • ATX Power Input. Generates own -5V
  • 4 x 8-bit ISA Slots
  • Front-panel connector for modern cases
  • Highly configurable with DIP switches. Can disable onboard peripherals.

Now I just need to find a place that cuts out I/O shields in low quantities... I can get blank ones.
I think they provide a professional finishing touch.

Click the images for higher res.

*Ugly rear bodge wire only on my prototype

I have made two. One is my bodge prototype seen here, and the other is for someone who bought one. They are in my little vintage PC parts shop in my signature.

I have enough parts to make 3 more. If they prove popular, I'll source more parts.

Any chance a PS/2 mouse port can be wedged in? They did exist on the XT class PS/2 Model 25 and 30 although BIOS support might be an issue.