• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

IBM 5150 Power Supply Recreation

RHopple

Experienced Member
Hello all!

I just picked up a nice early 5150 with all original components! While I am waiting for some new RAM to arrive, I decided to test the power supply, which doesn't work. :( I have another power supply, but I want to replace the early one with a modern, more efficient one. The only problem, as many of you already know, is the lack of a -5V line, used mainly by the RAM. I was thinking a simple circuit, like the one I found here http://www.larsen-b.com/Article/230.html, could make a -5V connection, but I am no engineer and don't know if this would work. I'm pretty good with a soldering iron and would feel comfortable making that simple circuit, and maybe something a little more complex.

Is this a good solution, or is there something else?

The -5 on the 5150 is mostly used for very low current substrate bias. Use a small 3-terminal voltage regulator such as a 79L05 off the -12 line. It's a TO-92 package and will supply 100 ma, which, IIRC, is all the original 5150 PSU was rated for on that line. Attach it to the 5150 board near the power connector and you won't have to worry about the issue ever again.

The -5 on the 5150 is mostly used for very low current substrate bias. Use a small 3-terminal voltage regulator such as a 79L05 off the -12 line. It's a TO-92 package and will supply 100 ma, which, IIRC, is all the original 5150 PSU was rated for on that line. Attach it to the 5150 board near the power connector and you won't have to worry about the issue ever again.

That sounds great! I’ll order one soon. Thanks for the advice!

I just picked up a 5150 with the 256K motherboard. If I want to update the power supply from the stock PSU, does it need -5V? Isn't the -5V mainly for the 4116 RAM chips in the older board?

Mostly, yes. IIRC there were a couple of early ISA cards that needed -5 also. It's been discussed here before.