• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

IBM PS/2 TYPE 8580 Issues

Nitadil

A few months ago I've got myself this old computer. I always was fascinated by these old things, so the idea of getting one and repairing it came to me naturally.
The problem is, I am really new to this kind of stuff.

First of all, when I boot it up two things appear: Error 161 and 163.
I did my research, the problem was with the CMOS battery, so I've replaced it. Now I need to get my hands on a Reference Disk, and this is where I got stuck.
I got myself a new floppy diskette (not quite sure if it was used and would it even affect something by that?), but here's the problem -
https://museo.freaknet.org/gallery/ibm/ps2/stuff/faq.html
It says that I have to run the file, but my windows does not recognize the file. I've tried to run it in compatibility mode,but to no avail.
In this link it's an EXE file

http://www.walshcomptech.com/selectpccbbs/ - in this link it's an ISO file. I've tried to write it on a floppy, but again, when I boot up my IBM with this floppy nothing happens, says the same errors (Although when I press DEL on the keyboard it tries to boot up to MS-DOS, but it just says it, and does nothing)

I am a complete newbie here, so if anyone could help please do.

A ".img" file is can be just a disk image. It could be any sort of disk, not just CD/DVD. I generally use EMT4WIN but it looks like Daniel has replace this with Ardi4USB http://dvalot.free.fr/emtcopy.html
You seem to be able to fine EMT4WIN here http://vogonsdrivers.com/getfile.php?fileid=1081&menustate=0
You may also find this page usefull

http://ps-2.kev009.com/ohlandl/8580/8580_Common_Devices.html

the three files at the top labeled are HMR, HMS and HMM are hardware manuals, but you will need the IBM Softcopy reader to read them

https://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.wss?uid=ibm10731199