• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Best Mouse Driver For InPort ISA On IBM 5150

ctrl-alt-rees

Hi All,

I have a Microsoft InPort mouse on its way to me, it's the version pictured which I gather is an early one:

inportmouse.jpg

I'm going to be fitting it into my IBM 5150 with 640K of RAM and IBM PC DOS 2000.

Obviously resources are at an absolute premium in this machine so what's the best version of the Microsoft Mouse driver to use? I assume it's a TSR so the one with the smallest footprint - possibly the earliest release they have on WinWorld unless there are known bugs that might make a later revision a more sensible choice?

I have no experience of using a mouse with a machine this old but thought it would be fun to play with so I'm glad to receive any wisdom from 8088 mouse users.

TIA!

I have the same Microsoft Inport Bus mouse / interface and the biggest issue I had with it was the extra IRQ the card required. almost like having an extra serial port.

I found myself totally out of IRQ and DMA so i ended up pulling the inport card and just using a serial mouse instead when i added a SB 2.0

My Inport card came with a 360k floppy with mouse drive / software so i've just been using that.

I would suggest the CuteMouse driver since it has a *teeny* RAM footprint, smaller than any old-skool driver I've found so far, but unfortunately it needs a V-20 CPU. (Also don't know for sure if it works with InPort.)

Later DOS software often requires at least version 6.0 of the Microsoft mouse driver.

I have that same mouse and card, in the original box including a DOS version of Paintbrush, as shown in this video:

I would suggest the CuteMouse driver since it has a *teeny* RAM footprint, smaller than any old-skool driver I've found so far, but unfortunately it needs a V-20 CPU. (Also don't know for sure if it works with InPort.)