• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Seagate ST-238R fails with verify error after lowlevel format

SunDown79

Veteran Member
So first of all, I am no expert so bare with me ;)
After my initial problems because I hooked up ST-238R wrong (its been too long ago) I was very happy to see the harddisk being detected.

I started a lowlevel format using Disk Master 5 and several hours later it was done, or so I thought, it had failed.
Then I tried the lowlevel format included in the BIOS of my Bitac AT, that also ran for a while (although a lot faster) and it said completed but now when I boot the system its still not ok; comes up with a Fixed Disk 0 Verify Error.

Its not making any weird noises (no grinding, smooth sounds) to me but then again, no expert.
Is there something I am missing or something I could try or is the drive toast ?
The controller used is a WD1003V-MM1

Any help/suggestions appreciated (again hehe, don't hope its a picnic again.....:p)

A Rom initiated LLF format only take about 20 minutes max for a 30mb hard drive.
Are you able to hear any seek activity from the drive or indication the head is sweeping the platter during the format?

I do, i hear it when the system starts up and I also did a seek test with Speedstor and that actually passed (I could also hear the tone change if that makes any sense)

Check the smaller data cable. Make sure it is plugged in so pin 1 matches the connector on both ends, and that it is connected to the correct header on the card.

Some formatters, especially BIOS formatters do not verify what they write, will still run and appear to succeed even if the data cable is completely disconnected.

Also, the ST-238R is an RLL drive, and the WD1003V-MM1 is an MFM controller.

It is possible to use this controller with this drive, but you will only get 20MB of storage instead of the normal 32MB. When formatting with an MFM controller, you must use 17 sectors per track instead of the normal 26.

Owww aaaaahhh(rg) :)