• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Monochrome MDA/CGA monitor - no HV, cut video cable, no pinout

Vein

Hello, I stumbled onto old monochrome MDA/CGA monitor. It's basically "noname", production date was 1987, model 14HP22.
Issues that i have:
1) Someone cut the video signal cable, I'm not experienced at all, to find out what is what (besides ground ;) )
2) After turning on, there is no HV, is it somehow connected to vertical/horizontal sync? I have tested all transistors and some diodes, all are OK
info: IC that most signals are connected to (directly, or indirectly) is 7407PC
For identification, I'm posting photos of PCB

Attachments

• photo61505.jpg
    photo61505.jpg
    247.9 KB · Views: 8
  • photo61506.jpg
    photo61506.jpg
    250 KB · Views: 8
Looks like a typical Asian (Taiwan, most likely) import MDA. You're not going to get HV without a horizontal sync signal. Try applying an 18 KHz sync signal to each of the pins, one at a time. If everything's working, on one of them, you'll get action.

Likewise, proceed with vertical sync., then video and intensity. Just be sure to exclude monitor outputs in your probing!

Also, be aware the brightness and contrast controls may be on other connectors.

Thank you, I'll have to figure out how to generate those signals using some of my stuff (arduinos etc.), or I'll just simply use one of my computers :)

btw. are you aware of some project, that uses Pi or some variant of arduino that can generate mda/cga test signal?

Looks like a typical Asian (Taiwan, most likely) import MDA. You're not going to get HV without a horizontal sync signal. .

I am inclined to agree.