• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

AWE64 in 486DX2/66 HELP!

MatthewH12

I recently acquired a vintage 486 computer, and I am having some issues getting an AWE card to work. It's an AWE64 Model CT4380 with IDE CD-ROM Support. I might as well start by saying, while I do have experience with these era machines (the first PC I worked on was a 486), I have NO experience with ISA SoundBlaster Cards (the 486 I mentioned used an ESS board). I got this card off eBay, because I needed one with IDE support for a CD-ROM Drive, and wasn't able to afford too much.

I removed the existing Sound Card, an Aztech board of some sort (which I verified DOES work in the PC), and put the SB card in it's ISA Slot (other 3 slots are empty), and then attempted to install the drivers on a fresh install of MS-DOS 6.22. I grabbed CTCMBBS and SBBasic from Creative's site, and this is where I run into issues. I installed CTCM fine, but on bootup it does not detect the card. I believe it's supposed to print out that it found it on bootup? Trying to install SBBasic says no card found on any of the 4 available IO Ports. Diagnose also reports it can not find the card. I tried it in another machine, a Pentium class one, and had the same issue. I'm kinda worried the card it's self is dead, but there seems to be no damage to the card, or bulging caps.

Am I just missing something?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

I'll try it again, but I believe I did. I downloaded CTCMBBS, extracted it, and ran install. It went through the install fine, and then rebooted my PC. CTCM and CTCU run on startup, but neither mention the AWE card, or anything other than that they loaded. I tried running install from SBBasic and it said it couldn't find the card.

Usually a failure to find would be due to a resource conflict. Have you checked all jumpers on the card? They may be set to a conflicting IRQ, base address or DMA. Was the card sold as tested working?

Rick