• Please review our updated Terms and Rules here

Is NTFS conversion also possible in Windows 95B and 95C?

computerdude92

Veteran Member
Is it possible? I have never done it before on any win9x OS, but how do you do it?

If I can turn drive C's Fat32 into NTFS on a Windows 95 Pentium II 450 then I could do DVD burning of large iso images. I know it sounds silly, but I'm trying to see if I can replace Windows 2000/XP with windows 95 for doing the same office stuff. The only limitation is being restricted to older versions of software that pretty much does the same thing.

You don't, 9x won't recognize an NTFS partition at all, it's not a matter of how to do the conversion. Try their fdisk utility on an (empty) NTFS usb drive for example and you'll see it yourself.
There is software you can use to access an NTFS partition from within windows, but I don't know how it'll behave with what you have in mind.

Windows 95, 98 and ME do not support NTFS. There are no drivers to add native NTFS. Even if there were, that would not work around the maximum size limit.

I've read/burned large DVD (8gb) images with ImgBurn under 95. It breaks images up in to segments less than 2GB, and images are not needed if burning files directly from a folder.

Even with NTFS on a hard drive under a later OS, it is usually a good idea to keep individual files less than 2GB for portability across other file systems and compatiblity with other tools.

BTW, FAT32 can technically store files up to just a few bytes under 4GB and ImgBurn will work with them, but 2GB or less is recommended as the explorer shell, file sharing, and other tools may barf on larger files.

There are in fact drivers for NTFS for DOS and Win9x, from Sysinternals. See here: https://www.techrepublic.com/article/installing-sysinternals-ntfs-for-windows-98-driver/
As far as I know they only support read-only access to NTFS though.